On Alignment Part 3: Good

So much has already been said about the good alignments. Good is the default assumption of many RPGs not just D&D. Most DMs that I know prefer to run “Heroic” games wherein the PCs are super good guys who go around helping people and saving the day; I have already discussed in my previous posts that those of the neutral and evil alignments can be just as “heroic” in their deeds as good characters. Why then do so the majority of people, supported by Alterus’ post here, favor good alignments?

Lets first check to see how the SRD defines good: “Good implies altruism, respect for life, and a concern for the dignity of sentient beings. Good characters make personal sacrifices to help others.”

As I mentioned in an earlier post evil has the flexibility to emulate good in order to further its agenda. Good doesn’t really have that option, you can’t hurt someone and show a concern for their dignity or respect their life, but you can assist someone in order to gain their trust only to later betray them.

Good, it seems, requires action. To stand idly by while evil is committed is not good, it may not be evil, but it is certainly not good. Thus a good character is bound in a way by compulsion to act in order to thwart evil and further good.

As a player I do not like to play good characters because I find them quite boring. Good characters simply do not have the options that evil characters do. As a DM I dislike good characters because from my experience they are always shooting themselves in the foot trying to be helpful to NPCs and such. The party in my current E6 campaign has missed every piece of magical loot I have placed simply because they are in a rush to help this town or to slay the next monster that they don’t even really look.

So to all my readers: Do you like or prefer good characters? Why?

~ by katallos on November 1, 2009.

2 Responses to “On Alignment Part 3: Good”

  1. If I am going to play a good character it is usually Chaotic Good, because that gives me the freedom to still do things for no particular reason, as long as I have good intentions. (Hand a rope to another PC as I jump off the cliff to save the falling damsel…in which we all fall to our deaths because it didn’t get tied off)

  2. You already know this, but I tend to lean towards the good-to-neutral side of the alignment axis; it suits my preferred play style and most of my character concepts. But I disagree with that it is more limiting than evil, depending on the setting. To put it simply, you rarely have to hide good. Evil generally has to remain low-key, at least, less paladins descend upon glowing steeds to smite it. ;D

Leave a Reply

 
