Over The Top

I have roleplayed with three or four different groups over the years. There has been some overlap between the groups, but for the most part the groups were different. As a result of playing with different groups and under different DMs I have been able to see several different styles off gameplay. Of these different styles I have found that I strongly dislike the over the top style that many people seem to want to play.

One group in particular, whom I don’t even talk to anymore as a result of how absurd their games went, played Vampire: the Masquerade like a super hero game. In their campaigns the PCs were superpowered, even by vampire standards, and they went around having huge Dragon Ball Z style fights. No repercussions were had, no mention of the key tenet of that game the “Masquerade” or the first rule of vampire club is do NOT talk about vampire club.

In Dungeons and Dragons, I’ve seen players build characters with Str 22 Dex 16 Con 15 Int 6 Wis 6 Cha 6, how could that character really function in the world?

I’ve played in a World of Darkness game where the PCs were weak, nearly always hurt, low on ammo, and on the verge of death at every moment. It was one of the best games I ever played in. Grit is so enjoyable to me. The game was challenging, at some points too challenging, but my character survived. Smart play was rewarded, dumb ideas got you killed. From where we stood, the top wasn’t even visible.

When I run games, I try to keep the danger aspect ever present. In my upcoming apocalypse game though, I plan on going a bit over the top. I’m giving guns infinite ammo, letting characters drink booze to get temporary hit points and bonuses to saves against fear, and other aspects taken from video games. This is quite out of character for my games.

~ by katallos on November 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
