Cheap Minis?

Why doesn’t anyone make cheap minis? I mean bucket of green army men cheap. Army men are durable and have been around basically forever, they come in a variety of poses. Granted the details aren’t that great, but some of the actual D&D minis that I have are pretty terrible looking.

It seems like it would be simple to just make minis out of that same green/tan plastic and sell them by the bucket load. I know I’d purchase a bucket of goblins, orcs, kobolds, gnolls, etc. for $5-15 easy. I’d probably buy a few just to get the right mix of poses and such. They could also be sold as children’s toys to gain broader market appeal. What kid doesn’t want to play army men vs lizard men or dinosaurs vs orcs?

A while back I found this game called Battlegrounds: Crossbows &Catapults at WalMart; the little orcs and knights are almost exactly 1″ mini-sized. I bought an expansion set for $10-15 and got 4 of each in addition to two catapults which are also about right for 1″ scale. I planned on getting more, but I haven’t been able to find it in stores since.

~ by katallos on December 17, 2009.

2 Responses to “Cheap Minis?”

  1. I totally agree! With d20 modern, I usually end up modifying and painting my own army men, or cowboys & indians. The problem with that is that I have to up the scale of the squares on maps, and it’s time consuming. It’s really hard to get the detail I want for the time I have to make them.

    Let me know if you find any cheap minis!

  2. We bought a “bag ‘o zombies” from Twilight Creations, numbered the bases with perm marker. Were using those until we find the time to paint our Reaper collection.

    They also make a “bag ‘o babes” and a “bag ‘o dogs.” Another silly company makes, as I discovered this past weekend, and I’m not kidding, a “bag ‘o flamingoes.”

    I also tend to buy the most iconic critters I can when I buy miniatures because I think they have the greatest potential reuse or chance of representing the actual monster.

Leave a Reply

 
