Short and Sweet

The other day I finally saw The Gamers: Dorkness Rising, a great movie about a group of gamers playing through their DM’s homebrew campaign. Action switches between the players at the table and the characters actually in the game with frequent DM voice overs and some comical interruptions. The movie is full of RPG tropes and pretty much sums up why I dislike the monk and paladin classes as well as showing how utterly pointless bards are. If you’re a gamer, which since you are reading this post I assume you are, go watch The Gamers: Dorkness Rising.

One thing I noticed while watching the movie was just how short this “campaign” actually was. They only play for two sessions and have only a hand full of encounters before reaching the final villain. Most of the short campaigns I have played in were just abandoned in the middle and didn’t have much in the way of resolution. I have only sort of finished the story arc in two campaigns. Both campaigns were using Star Wars Saga Edition and one of them was ended after a logical stopping point in the arc where there had been some resolution although they were far from the real “end.”

This brings me to my question how long does it take your group to get through one complete story arc? At this point is the game over or do you tend to begin another arc or expand upon material hinted at earlier in the adventure?

~ by katallos on January 28, 2010.

Leave a comment