It’s Been A While

I haven’t posted anything in a while. I got hit with a bad case of writer’s block and had to deal with real life: job, car trouble, other social obligations, etc. That hasn’t stopped me from gaming though, I’ve actually gamed more in the last couple months than I did when I was updating this blog on a regular basis. I haven’t ran a game since my E6 D&D campaign ended with the defeat of the Demon Prince of Gnolls, but I have definitely been playing.

The Arkenfall game is drawing to an end though it has recently been plagued with a lot of interruptions and has lost a lot of its steam. It is interesting to me that the game was running strong until about 6th level after which it started getting harder to keep people focused, though an unplanned party at the house on game night didn’t help matters any. Having an 8-5 job also means that I’m tired on Friday evenings when I used to not be so Friday night gaming has lost a lot of it’s appeal for me; however, not working weekends has freed up Saturday which is a magnificent day for gaming.

On Saturday’s a smaller subgroup consisting of members from my regular group has played a couple of one – three session campaigns as well as an ongoing game using the Kingmaker adventure path which is a lot of fun. The exploration aspect is very interesting and taming untamed lands and bringing civilization to the uncivilized is in my opinion what fantasy adventuring should be about.

Through all this gaming I have found that Ranger is my favorite class in PFRPG. Favored enemy bonus is great as is favored terrain. Having my Ranger in Kingmaker really hate animals is a large part of what saved us at 1st level when we had to fight a CR4 bear that promptly dropped the great axe wielding Barbarian leaving only my Ranger, a str 9 Cleric and a Sorcerer who’s offensive capabilities are pretty much magic missile. Without the extra damage from favored enemy the bear may have been able to survive a round or two longer and take down another party member.

As I mentioned earlier in this post the Arkenfall game is drawing to a close and that means a empty gaming slot. I plan to fill this slot with a game of Mutants and Masterminds, though I will not be doing the standard super hero type game. I will use this system to run a game sort of like the first Fable game crossed with Jedi Knight Academy. The players will be young Heroes in training at the Heroes Guild. They will begin by undertaking minor quests with little danger until they are really challenged and can become True Heroes. The game will start at level 7 to represent that they are stronger than mere mortals who will cap out at 6th level in line with the E6 philosophy, yet are still far weaker than full fledged Heroes who by default are 10th level plus.

With me DMing again I should be more inspired to write and update more frequently. Look forward to me posting on Saturday about gaming group makeup and what I have found makes games last and what makes games crumble under their own weight.

~ by katallos on May 27, 2010.

2 Responses to “It’s Been A While”

  1. Glad to hear you are back and look forward to reading what you have to say. I am just back from an absence myself.

  2. Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

 
